Don’t I look like a brain?

IMG_1981Almonds get all the attention, but I’ve always been partial to walnuts.  The halves look like little brains, and I kind of like that they aren’t sweet.  Of course they taste good with chocolate (brownies and fudge anyone?), but add coffee and the faintest hint of cinnamon and we’re talking near perfection.

You’ll be surprised how light and tender the crumb of this cake is – delicate as the flavors themselves.  You could easily go the healthy route (skip the mocha frosting) and serve it for breakfast or for tea, but then it would just be coffee walnut cake, and you would miss out on the chocolate and the affinity that these flavors have for each other.  Besides, who am I kidding? Frosting has rarely stopped anyone from eating cake for breakfast.

Mocha Walnut Cake

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Don’t I look like a brain?

  1. bscartabello October 24, 2014 at 14:02 Reply

    LOL I laughed out loud at the title of this. YES, YES YOU DO. ❤

Leave a comment