Don’t Hide Your Love

20130928-082100.jpgSummer is ending, and as I wandered the neighborhood farmers’ market, I selfishly filled my basket with at least a half dozen end of season zucchini as if I would never see (and taste) them again.  It was foolish, of course.  Mid-way through the week, I’d sautéed it, stuffed it, and added it to a curry and still had half my haul left.  It would be a shame to let it go to waste.

My mother used to make zucchini cake every time my grandfather sent us home arms laden with the bounty from his garden.  It wasn’t the frosting or chocolate chips, rather it was the tender, emerald-flecked crumb that made me beg for seconds.  I’ve taken her recipe and turned into a slightly healthier muffin proudly displaying it’s gorgeous green heritage.

Spiced Zucchini Muffins

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a comment